Home News Mayor D.C. Reeves joins CareerSource Florida Board of Directors

Mayor D.C. Reeves joins CareerSource Florida Board of Directors

Governor Ron DeSantis announced last week the appointment of Pensacola Mayor D.C. Reeves and six other appointees to the CareerSource Florida Board of Directors.


Mayor Reeves is one of two new board members appointed by Governor DeSantis, while the five others are reappointments to the board. Mayor Reeves’ seat on the board will be accompanied by Ryan Goertzen, Joe Marino, Melvin “Mel” Ponder, Laurie Sallarulo, Robert Salonen and Representative Dana Trabulsy.

“Developing and training our workforce is a must for Florida, and it’s a must for the Pensacola community to thrive,” Mayor Reeves said. “I appreciate Governor DeSantis for believing in Northwest Florida and trusting me to help Florida build the most talented workforce in the nation.”

Reeves is the only mayor statewide to be appointed to CareerSource Florida’s Board of Directors and the only representative of Escambia County.

CareerSource Florida Board of Directors Appointees

Ryan Goertzen

Goertzen is the Vice President of Workforce Development for AAR Corporation. He is the President of Choose Aerospace and the Vice Chair of the Rockford Workforce Connection. Goertzen earned his bachelor’s degree in aviation and his master’s degree in public administration from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

Darcy “D.C.” Reeves

Reeves is the Mayor of the City of Pensacola. Previously, he was the Owner and Founder of R&R of Pensacola and the Chief Entrepreneur Officer for the Spring Entrepreneur Hub. He is the former Chair of Visit Pensacola and was designated as the Emerging Leader of the Year in 2021 by the Pensacola Chamber of Commerce. Reeves earned his bachelor’s degree in communication studies and sport management from Florida State University.

Joe Marino

Marino is the Executive Director of Veterans Florida. He is a veteran of the United States Army and previously served as the Executive Director and Co-Founder of the Florida Defense Contractors Association and the Florida League of Defense Contractors. Marino earned his bachelor’s degree in management and engineering from the United States Military Academy at West Point.

Laurie Sallarulo

Sallarulo is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Junior Achievement of South Florida. She is currently appointed to and serves on the Florida Endowment Foundation for Vocational Rehabilitation Board of Directors. She is a member of the Greater Fort Lauderdale Alliance, the Fort Lauderdale Chamber of Commerce, and the Six Pillars Initiative in Broward. Sallarulo earned her bachelor’s degree in business and accounting from the University of Albany.

Melvin “Mel” Ponder

Ponder is an Okaloosa County Commissioner, the President and Chief Executive Officer of Business Empowered, Inc., and the Government Affairs Director for the Emerald Coast Association of Realtors. He served as a member of the Florida House of Representatives from 2016 to 2020. Ponder earned his bachelor’s degree in finance from Florida State University.

Robert Salonen

Salonen is the Director of Government Affairs of the Florida Institute of Technology. Previously, he was the Director of Business Development for the Economic Development Commission of Florida’s Space Coast and currently serves on the Palm Bay Business Improvement District. Salonen earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of Connecticut and his master’s degree in public administration from the Florida Institute of Technology

Dana Trabulsy

Trabulsy is a Co-Chief Executive Officer of the Treasure Coast Business Summit and All Things Treasure Coast. She currently represents District 84 in the Florida House of Representatives. Trabulsy currently attends Indian River State College to further her education and is a member of the Place of Hope Advisory Board.

To learn more about CareerSource Florida, visit the CareerSource Florida website.